Alberta Schools' Athletic Association

Lorne Wood Award

In 2005, the ASAA added the Lorne Wood Award to those given out at the Annual Planning Meeting dinner each year. The first award was presented in December 2006 in Red Deer.

Nominations are due June 30, Annually, for the Lorne Wood Award

This award is designed to recognize school administrators who actively model, support and promote sportsmanship by their involvement in their school's athletic program.

Nominations for this award will consist of the following (at minimum):

• two (2) letters of support from coaches

• two (2) letters of support from students and/or parents

• one to two page essay of why the person being nominated is deserving of the award

Nominations must be submitted to the ASAA office by June 30, Annually. The ASAA Executive and the Sportsmanship Commissioner will select the winner each year.

Lorne Wood Award Recipients




 2014  Lloyd Boody  Three Hills School


Dennis Holowaychuk

Rundle College, Calgary


Dave Hauk

Rundle College, Calgary

 2011  Wanda Vandervelden  Olds High School
 2010  Garry Parasynchuk  Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton

Chris Lees

Cochrane High School


Nelson Stonehocker

Frank Maddock High School, Drayton Valley


David MacLean

Hunting Hills, Red Deer


Doug Bowie

Bawlf School