Most Sportsmanlike Coach

All nominees will be considered for a Sportsmanship in Coaching certificate by the Executive Committee and will also be considered for the ASAA’s annual Most Sportsmanlike Coach award.

In submitting your nomination, please comment on why you are nominating the person, taking the following into consideration:

The coach has, by example, consistently shown good sportsmanship while coaching and has brought credit to him/herself and the school.

Further, the coach shows:

- proper acceptance of officials’ judgements/decisions
- positive encouragement of player performance and bench behaviour
- general deportment and interaction with other coaches and athletes

You can provide specific examples if you wish.



Your name and school. Please note - submissions are welcome from students, parents and others, but should be directed through the school.
Name and school of nominee
Sport(s) the nominee coaches
Include relevant testimonials, references

Deadline: April 1, Annually


Email: ASAA Sportsmanship Commissioner Heather Bartling (

Mail: ASAA, 11759 Groat Road Edmonton AB T5M 3K6

Fax: 780-415-1833

Adjudication: The ASAA Sportsmanship Commissioner and the ASAA Executive Committee will adjudicate this award.

Nominations are due April 1, Annually for the Most Sportsmanlike Coach Award

  • 2018
    Andrew Przybylski
    of J. A. Williams High
  • 2017
    Tyler Korol
    of Bishop McNally, Calgary
  • 2016
    Ron Labrie
    of Ponoka Composite
  • 2015
    Edmund Crame
    of St. Martin de Porres
    Airdrie, AB
  • 2014
    Justin Sauve
    of Bonnyville Centralized High School
    Bonnyville, AB
  • 2013
    Kirsten Collison
    of Caroline Community School
  • 2012
    Daryn Galatiuk
    of Glendon School
  • 2012
    Brian Johnson
    of Hunting Hills, Red Deer
  • 2011
    Neil Domstad
    of Rundle College, Calgary
  • 2011
    Darren Klein
    of Medicine Hat High
  • 2010
    Art Block
    of E.H. Walter, Paradise Valley
  • 2010
    Danny Rossworm
    of Worsley Central High
  • 2009
    Kevin Kubinec
    of Trochu Valley High
  • 2009
    Jeff Rathwell
    of Forestburg High
  • 2008
    Al Bellamy
    of Brooks Composite
  • 2008
    Brandon Jacobs
    of H.A. Kostash, Smoky Lake
  • 2007
    Torben Jensen
    of Bowness High, Calgary
  • 2006
    Karla Stucklschwaiger
    of Fairview High
  • 2006
    John Armstrong
    of Youngstown School
  • 2005
    Garth Van Gaalen
    of Foremost
  • 2004
    Eileen Hines
    of Marwayne Jubilee
  • 2003
    David Rozdeba
    of Eagle Butte, Dunmore
  • 2003
    Mark Heinricks
    of Eagle Butte, Dunmore
  • 2002
    Rick Haines
    of J.C.Charyk
  • 2001
    James Pratt
    of Mayerthorpe School
    Zone: North Central