Robert H. Routledge

Robert H. Routledge

A key figure at the inauguration of the Alberta Schools’ Athletic Association

in 1956, Bob had been a constant guiding force its policies and activities. He believed in the beneficial effects to adults and youth alike of properly directed sports and athletics. He sought to involve as many boys and girls as possible in sports programs: to stress courtesy and sportsmanship above winning; to consider first the health, fitness, intellectual and emotional growth of the participants.

Bob’s personal accomplishments as a physical educator are well known. From rural school teacher with a liking for sports and gymnastics, he progressed to Provincial Recreation Supervisor, to high school physical educator, to Assistant Supervisor of Physical Education with the Edmonton Public School Board and finally to Professor of Physical Education, University of Alberta, with his doctorate pending at the time of his passing (April 25, 1970).

His integrity and sincerity were evident, and his enthusiasm for his work infectious. No wonder that his peers listened to his opinions with great respect and sought his advice. With his deep belief in the importance of his job, Bob combined a feeling for words, a unique ability to turn a phrase neatly, with a quick intellect that relished statistical accuracy. These qualities made him invaluable as a policy maker and parliamentarian not only of ASAA but of the numerous associations both local and national to which, as a person with a deep sense of professional responsibility, he belonged.

“God’s finger touched him, and he slept.” - Tennyson

The Robert H. Routledge award is presented annually in the recognition of outstanding service to the students of Alberta schools in the promotion and operation of an athletic program.

Download a nomination form here

Please contact the ASAA office 780-427-8182 if you have any questions.

Nomination Deadline is February 1 Annually

  • 2016
    Duane Konynenbelt
  • 2015
    Kelle Hansen
  • 2014
    David Jones
  • 2013
    Lawrence King
  • 2012
    Don Zabloski
  • 2011
    Ian MacGillivray
  • 2010
    Terry Hanna
  • 2009
    Gane Olsen
  • 2008
    Al Brenneis
  • 2007
    Gary Frost
  • 2006
    Wayne Thomas
  • 2005
    Marg McCuaig-Boyd
  • 2004
    Hugh Nester
  • 2003
    Rick Mooney
  • 2002
    Glen Magneson
  • 2001
    Joyce Loucks
  • 2000
    Hugh Forrester
  • 1999
    Wendae Grover
  • 1998
    Ann Rowberry
  • 1997
    Doug Bowie
  • 1996
    Larry Wagner
  • 1995
    Rick Haines
  • 1994
    Marg Derbyshire
  • 1993
    Myron Pearman
  • 1992
    Debbie Yanota
  • 1991
    Leroy Walker
  • 1990
    Lorne Wood
  • 1989
    John Semkuley
  • 1988
    George Hanna
  • 1987
    Linda Wilkins
  • 1986
    Robert Albrecht
  • 1985
    Don Gustafson
  • 1984
    Bill Armstrong
  • 1983
    Dean Rook
  • 1982
    Mal Clewes
  • 1981
    Tom Humphrey
  • 1980
    Myron Buryn
  • 1979
    Hugh Morrell
  • 1978
    Jim Whitelaw
  • 1977
    Marion Irwin
  • 1976
    Roy R. Gouchey
  • 1975
    John Takahashi
  • 1974
    Gordon Prusky
  • 1973
    Ethel Cuts
  • 1972
    Robert Stewart
  • 1971
    John F. Mayell