Media Recognition


This award is designed to recognize individuals in the media who have made a consistent effort to highlight school athletics in their reporting. The nominee has consistently gone above and beyond in drawing attention to and supporting high school athletics issues through their articles/submissions.


In 2000, the ASAA introduced a media recognition award to be presented annually at the ASAA’s Annual General Meeting. As there is generally not a great deal of coverage of high school sports in the media, the Executive felt it important to draw attention to those print, radio or TV journalists who make the effort to recognize high school student athletes, coaches and schools.


Submit via email to:


  • Minimum of 2 articles/ video submissions.
  • Letter of recommendation
  • Minimum of 2 references/testimonies
  • Photo of Nominee
  • Your name
  • School, location
  • Name and employer of nominee (i.e., media agency)


Nominations are due April 1, Annually.


The ASAA Executive Committee will adjudicate this award.

Past Winners

  • 2019
    Mitch Bach
    Media: Chat TV
  • 2019
    Scott Roblin
    Media: Chat TV
  • 2018
    Mark Stephen
    Calgary, AB
    Media: CHQR Radio
    Zone: Calgary
  • 2017
    Bryan Jeannotte
    Lethbridge, AB
    Media: CJOC Radio
    Zone: South
  • 2016
    Britton Ledingham
    Airdrie, AB
    Media: Airdrie Echo
    Zone: South Central
  • 2015
    Paul Frey
    Didsbury, AB
    Media: Didsbury Review
    Zone: South Central
  • 2014
    Frank McTighe
    Fort MacLeod, AB
    Media: Fort MacLeod Gazette
    Zone: South
  • 2013
    Sean Rooney
    Medicine Hat, AB
    Media: Medicine Hat News
    Zone: South
  • 2012
    Ann Harvey
    Mayerthorpe, AB
    Media: Mayerthorpe Freelancer
    Zone: North Central
  • 2011
    Carson Papke
    Eckville, AB
    Media: Eckville Echo
    Zone: Central
  • 2010
    Bruce Campbell
    Okotoks, AB
    Media: Okotoks Western Wheel
    Zone: South Central
  • 2009
    Rhys Kelso
    Hinton, AB
    Media: Hinton Highlander
    Zone: North Central
  • 2008
    Treen Mielke
    Eckville, AB
    Media: Eckville Echo (now with the Red Deer Express)
    Zone: Central
  • 2008
    Greg Price
    Taber, AB
    Media: Taber Times
    Zone: South
  • 2007
    Marty Baceda
    Lethbridge, AB
    Media: Global Sports Lethbridge
    Zone: South
  • 2006
    Danny Rode
    Red Deer, AB
    Media: Red Deer Advocate
    Zone: Central
  • 2005
    Lauren MacGillivray
    Calgary, AB
    Media: Calgary Herald
    Zone: Calgary
  • 2004
    Jules Xavier
    Wetaskiwin, AB
    Media: Wetaskiwin Times Advertiser
    Zone: Central
  • 2003
    Bruce Parker
    Brooks, AB
    Media: Brooks Bulletin
    Zone: South Central
  • 2002
    Richard Wright
    Fort McMurray, AB
    Media: Fort McMurray Today
    Zone: North East
  • 2001
    David Wells
    Lethbridge, AB
    Media: Lethbridge Herald
    Zone: South
  • 2000
    John Short
    Edmonton, AB
    Media: Edmonton Journal; Any Sport Any Time Radio
    Zone: Edmonton