Awards and Scholarships

Unified School Award

The Unified Schools Award is presented annually at the Special Olympics Alberta Awards Luncheon. This award is based on sportsmanship and full-school engagement throughout the school year and at Unified events.


  • All team members are given the opportunity to meaningfully contribute to every game/event
  • Leadership skills are demonstrated both by teammates and coaches

Full School Engagement:

  • Unified Sports teams are supported and celebrated within the school
  • School spirit is demonstrated at all games/events
  • Unified teams within the school engage in practices leading up to each event
  • Opportunities and adaptations are used to create a welcoming atmosphere for any student to get involved

Past Recipients:

Year School
2015/16 Lester B. Pearson High School
2016/17 Bert Church High School
2017/18 Cochrane High School
2018/19 Cold Lake High School

Special Olympics Unified Sports Leader in Inclusion Scholarship

Four scholarships will be awarded to students who participate in Unified Sports and demonstrate leadership in creating an inclusive environment in their school. The successful aplicants will be selected by a committee made up of ASAA and Special Olympics Alberta representatives.

4x $1000.00 scholarships will be distributed geographically as follows:

  • 1x Edmonton
  • 1x Calgary
  • 2x Elsewhere in the province of Alberta

Note: Scholarships may be redistributed at the discretion of the Committee if no eligible or acceptable applications are received from an area noted above.

Application Deadline:
June 30th at 12:00 midnight. No late applications will be accepted.

Eligible Students:
Graduating grade 12 students in Alberta who will be attending a post-secondary institution in Canada the September after graduating from high school. Applicants must have participated in at least one Unified Sports event; preference will be given to applicants who have participated in multiple Unified Sports events throughout their high school career.

More general information about the scholarship, including the application form, can be found at the bottom of this page.

Past Recipients:

Year Recipient School
2018/19 Alia Nielsen Delia School
2018/19 Richard Nganzi Archbishop O’Leary
2018/19 Kaia Ntwari Cochrane High