Lorne Wood Award


This award is designed to recognize school administrators who actively model, support and promote sportsmanship by their involvement in their school’s athletic program.


In 2005, the ASAA added the Lorne Wood Award to those given out at the Annual Planning Meeting dinner each year. The first award was presented in December 2006 in Red Deer.


Please email info@asaa.ca to submit a nomination


  • two (2) letters of support from coaches
  • two (2) letters of support from students and/or parents
  • one to two page essay of why the person being nominated is deserving of the award
  • Picture of nominee
  • (Optional) Video of nominee in action


Nominations are due June 30, Annually.


The ASAA Executive and the Sportsmanship Commissioner will select the winner each year.

Past Winners

Year Recipient
2023 Erin Ellis
Calgary Academy
2022 Heather Bartling
Frank Maddock, Drayton Valley
2021 Stephen Lush
Bentley School
2020 Randy Spenrath
St. Mary’s School (Taber)
2019 Dustin Walker
Cold Lake High School
2018 Darcy Younghans
FG Miller
2017 Darren Mazutinec
Stirling School
2016 Boris Grisonich
Medicine Hat High School
2015 Randy Smith
St. Timothy’s (Cochrane)
2014 Lloyd Boody
Three Hills School
2013 Dennis Holowaychuk
Rundle College
2012 Dave Hauk
Rundle College
2011 Wanda Vandervelden
Olds High School
2010 Garry Parasynchuk
Harry Ainlay
2009 Chris Lees
Cochrane High
2008 Nelson Stonehocker
Frank Maddock
2007 David MacLean
Hunting Hills
2006 Doug Bowie
Bawlf School

There are currently no awards available. Please try again later.